Jordan Jordan Jordan

Posted: March 12, 2008 in Things I like

bajo-logo.png

I will start like this, I was born in Amman, raised in Amman, educated in Amman, had all my life spent in Amman, First Car in Amman, First Love in Amman, every single good and bad thing happened to me took place in Amman.

I won’t be Mr. Nashmmee today, but I will tell you something, one of the top reasons I don’t want to go to work in the Gulf is that I love Amman, I can’t leave my family, my friends the new neighborhood I have just moved in, the VIBES, drinking coffee with my friends in the car is one of the most enjoyable things of my life, 6alet el Jabal (Coffe Shop) all the places my friends and I go to every Thursday, so why to leave all that behind.

One day a Danish friend of mine who used to know that I am from Palestinian origin asked me a question, what is Palestine for you, I answered my heart, then he asked what about Jordan, I answered quickly, the other half of the heart, I am the son of this land so what do you think?

So, what do I like in Jordan and what I do dislike, let’s see

I will start with the good ones.

1-Amman is very clean, modern and charming

2-A lot of my friend ask me when they are in the US, if I need anything that they can get me from there? I simply answer: nothing, everything is available in Amman, all trademarks and so on (you will have to have the money for sure, I will come into this when I discuss things I dislike)

3-Safety and Security, just tell me where in the world you can walk down the street 02:00 AM in the morning not being afraid of being beaten or stolen.

4-The French Culture Center (Jabal Webdeh), one of the best places in the world for me, where I can learn French, talk to nice, civilized and well educated people.

5-Jabal Amman, I feel my father’s soul attached in the atmosphere, I can smell his perfume telling me (El Rgal he lebt3mal masare mosh el 3aks – Men are those who make money not the opposite)

6-Diving and Snorkeling in Aqaba, we have the most charming reef in the world. When I put my mask and start snorkeling I feel how much great God is, and how much blessed we are.

7-Mansaf, “Ya 7abibi lama akon ma3zoom 3ala mansaf” when I am invited to Manasaf, that would be my day, this event can book my whole day, specially when it is Friday, I eat mansaf and go into a comma (Batwafa)

8-Wasa6 El Balad (Down Town), The only 1 JD DVD, Sa7lab (Hot Drink) from the Mardynee’s Place, Kunnafah (Sweet) from Habibia, the top food of the world at Ma63am el Kods (Jerusalem Restaurant).

9-My Friends, whom I can’t find anywhere in the universe. good, well educated, open minded and nice people. where can you find someone like Mohd Adi and his sense of humor, Alaa, Laith, Mahoud, Hatem, Hani .etc..

10- The prices! O’ps this shouldn’t be here, Sorry.

About things I dislike, and some of them I believe we should work on them (we are the people) to get rid of them.

1-Traffic accidents and how much crazy people are when driving, I am crazy!

2-When I hear about fights in Universities between students, the University is somewhere to get educated and learn how to discipline, not to show your muscles.

3-Prices and Taxes, they are high!

4-When I hear about children being left behind. we all know why!

5-Taxi drivers, specially when he starts telling you a story about the girl he gave a ride yesterday. effffffffffft

6-Ignorant people, people who think themselves over the law, no one is above the law, this country has it’s law that should be respected and followed

7-Bad roads, today I had a flat tyre, when I went to the service station, the guy there said I should replace it, OMG!!!!! I have to pay 45 JDs to get a new one, this wasn’t the first time by the way.

8-Queues, whenever you want to do something you have to stand in a queue, when you want to buy bread “Khobez” you will have to stand in a queue, to renew you passport there is a queue, when to refuel your car you have to stand in a queue. even to go to the bathroom sometime you have to stand in a queue (bad smells).

9-Sales people, in this world when you get into a store to buy something, the sales person starts to treat you kind, make some jokes to attract you so you buy and he makes the deal, in Jordan we have the opposite, when I get into a store I (the one who is paying the f… money) start to play the nice person, I even sometimes make jokes so the Sales person can draw a silly smile on his face. If you decided not to buy you might hear something like “Naflet el ma7al o ma sharet!” you made a great miss and you don’t want to buy.

10- Careless people and people who don’t pay attention to other’s life’s, many people were poisoned last year because of unhealthy not well done food, I am paying money for that meal so I deserve to get a decent clean and well done one.

Listen! at the end I will say something, every where in this world has it’s goods and bads, ups and downs so let’s be fair with ourselves first….. Jordan is one of the best places in this world, and if you think otherwise please leave so others can have the chance to enjoy

 

Comments
  1. I love the good vs the bad lists .. those are awesome!

    And as you said, Jordan and Palestine are two halves of my heart

  2. […] Bonbonlover: My workout shirt says it all… (BAJO) Sharkooseh :Blog About Jordan Day, Raise your flag up high, Like eagles in the sky Bakkouz: Blogging About Jordan, A Brief Introduction. Wonders: My Hometown Karak (BAJD) Mala2e6 :قصة خيالية اردنية Adoosh : Blog About Jordan Day Jad’s thoughts: Blog About Jordan Day: What a safe country Tamara : Jordan Land of contradictions The Observer : The Jordanian Dream No comment : Jordan Moh’d Shaltaf:الأردن في يومه MommaBean: When I look at Jordan… Tulip :From Lebanon…to Jordan.. with Love… Smile-Noura: ~ Celebrating Jordanians . . . Southern muslimah: My Adopted Watan 3ammania:As action Jordan i will back: Jordan the Picture and the Dream: Blog about Jordan day Askadenia :عمّان بعدستي Al shabeba: التدوين عن الإردن JanMaia: Jordan Heroes and Jordan Photos Not another Blog: From London To Jordan Be Lost with me: Going Green ! (BAJD) Paroles: Jordan Jordan Jordan […]

  3. Hani Obaid says:

    I had better hear more about the first love in Amman thing !

    Walahi every time you tell a story about your dad, I wish I could have met him.

    You pick the place, and I am ready to go for Mansaf on Friday. You have to use a spoon though 😛

    I was going to use those exact words on my list (1JD DVD), great minds think alike!

    So sahlab, knafeh, and mat3am al-quds eh ? You were kind to invite me to knafeh and sahleb the last time we went downtown. We were too full to go to mat3am al-quds, inshallah next time it’s mat3am al-quds and my treat.

    The sales people are definitely a problem. We really need to learn about service from our Lebanese friends!

  4. Adi says:

    Wasim, u will never change…
    10 like and 10 dislike, did u mean that?

    i do agree with u, but i have some questions:
    1- is Amman really clean? wake up plz…. im sure u know Jabal Al Khadar and plz dont say look at Egypt,ok?
    2- OK, Amman is very clean….. i dont want a clean street, i need a stright, flat street…. i wish to drink coffee while im driving. (even tho i do, just bcz i dont give a xxxx when i drive)
    3- We have everything in Amman just like USA, wallah and wallah its cheaper to buy mn honak.
    4-Queues: its not a problem; the problem that we dont respect the line… and if yr cuz or freind’s works there…fxxx the line…RIGHT?
    5- All the stuff u have mentioned is about placs u like, give it another year and it will be sold, Jabal Amman, downtown and…. and all yr memories will go away, then; u will still like Amman? think before u answer.

    Wasim, u know that i love being in Amman, my family, my freinds and you. Just some thoughts crossed my mind….

    Thanks,
    Adi

  5. wayoubi says:

    Qwaider
    ———–
    Thanx alot

    Hani
    —–
    May god bless your family and “Allah Ya36ehom 6olet el 3omor”, we will go down town next week inshallah.

    Adi
    ——
    “Jabal Al Khadar” is clean, “3omal el watan” clean Amman’s streets every morning, and you have to distinct between clean roads and their conditions, I mentioned in one of the dislike points that I hate roads being in bad conditions.

    About things being available here in Amman, give me a name a.. h… and I will get it for you from here (I said you will have to have the money for sure)

    I said that I hate queues and what you have just mentioned is a major cause.

    Things are moving forward and if that change will make it a better place, I never mind.

  6. saeed says:

    friendship driving out door
    my hobby is out door sport driving , adventure , enterprise and travel and crossing
    I am from U.A.E, Dubai I like to meet some one go with me for out door in Jordan by my car 4×4 how interested please send me e-mail a7asses@yahoo.com .

  7. Em_Wadee3 says:

    Jordan is one of the best places in this world, and if you think otherwise please leave so others can have the chance to enjoy

    IT IS THE BEST NOT ONE OF THE BEST… WALAH YOU SAID EXACTLY WHAT’S IN MY HEART AND ON MY MIND…YOUR BLOG IS AMAZING I’M ADDING IT TO MY FAVORITES =) 3NJAD WALAH WHEN I WAS READING IT IT’S LIKE YOU WERE READING MY MIND AND DESCRIBING MY FEELINGS CRAZY! IF I WAS TO WRITE THIS I WOULD’VE PUT THE SAME WORDS INTO IT ..NO CHANGES EXCEPT FOR THAT HONESTLY AND NOT ASHAMED TO SAY THIS EL ORDUN IS BALADY O I’M SO GLAD THAT I WAS BORN AND RAISED THERE CUZ MAN WHAT I FEEL ABOUT THAT PIECE OF LAND CAN’T BE TOLD ..ONLY TOUCHED! O EL ORDUN AWALAN O 3MMAN FEL QALB ❤
    I’M ALSO A PALESTANIAN AND OF COURSE I LOVE FLS6EN BUT WHAT JORDAN MEANS TO ME IS NOTHING LIKE WHAT FLS6EN IS TO ME CUZ ANA 3OMRY MA RO7T FLS6EN WALA B3RAF FEHA ESHY …EL BALAD EZA MA 3ESHT FEHA O AKLT MEN 5ERHA O KBRT M3 NASHA MA RA7 YOWLAD A FEELING OUT OF NOTHING TO THAT PLACE! PEOPLE JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND .. I CAN’T DENY THAT I’M PALESTANIAN BECAUSE IT’S A FACT THAT CAN’T BE CHANGED IT RUNS IN MY BLOOD BOTH MY PARENTS R FROM FLS6EN BUT I STILL CONSIDER FLS6EN LIKE ANY OTHER BALAD I’VE NEVER BEEN TO OR VISITED IN MY LIFE! HOW DO U IN THE NAME OF GOD WANT ME TO LOVE SOMETHING I NEVER FELT OR TOUCHED!! … ANYWAY THIS TALK COULD GO ON FOR EVER AND I ALSO LIVE IN THE US AND TIL TODAY MY LOVE TO JORDAN GROWS EACH YEAR MORE AND MORE AND I JUST HATE BEING IN THE US AND JUST WANNA GO BACK TO 3MMAN SO BAD WITH ALL THE DISLIKE LIST YOU EVEN MENTIONED! CUZ MAN THAT’S MY HEART I CAN’T LIVE WITH OUT MY HEART SOMETHING IS ALWAYS MISSING WHEN I’M SO FAR AWAY..
    AIGHT I WROTE A LOT! 😀 bs it was just amazing knowing that there someone out there like u and can understand how u feel u know this thing really made me feel better now and zad 7oby la hal balad walah 😀
    shokran man lol! salamzz

  8. Suz says:

    Well… I wasn´t even going to reply, but it seems to me you all leave in dreamland. Amman clean?? Hello!! The balad is disgusting, and many of the places there should be closed down by the Sanitation Dept.
    I guess you don´t have anything to compare Amman with, since you say you never got out of here, but i strongly suggest you to do so, so when you go back you´ll probably want to move…
    And there´s the salary issue, who the f… can live with 300 dinars in this city? And you think it´s so much fun to go out with the car and drive around with your friends?? Where the hell is the fun in that?
    Really, try going to Europe and compare, listen not even Europe, just go to Lebanon and you´ll see the difference.
    At least you like your country, good for you, since you´ll have to stay in it, but in the meantime all your comrades are trying to get the hell out of here

Leave a Reply

